Two Preludes & Fugues

Audio Samples

Prelude No. 14 - BWV 883, From The Well-Tempered Clavier
Fugue No. 21 - BWV 886, From The Well-Tempered Clavier
Prelude No. 8 - BWV 853, From The Well-Tempered Clavier
Fugue No. 8 - BWV 853, From The Well-Tempered Clavier

Composed by: Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Arranged by: Felix Salazar

As he did at the end of each of his cantatas, Bach marked the Well-Tempered Clavier with the postscript S.D.G., which stands for “Soli Deo Gloria,” Latin for “Glory to God alone.” While dedicating music to God was typical during the Baroque period, Bach meant this more deeply than other composers. He believed that the substance of music both reflected and constituted the ultimate reality of God and the Universe – a belief that the Enlightenment carried over from Greek cosmology. This preoccupation with musical harmony was part of his personal quest for spiritual harmony.

Here, we’ve taken Heitor Villa-Lobos’ cello orchestra arrangements of two preludes and fugues from the Well-Tempered Clavier. The electric guitars actually sit in-between the two versions, the guitars being able to attack like a piano and sing like a cello. Extending Villa-Lobos’ thickening of parts through voice doublings and aural spatialization, this arrangement of the arrangement splits the parts only to fit them back together like a musical puzzle.

Purchase Two Preludes & Fugues