Suite Mundial

Composed by: Randall C. Kohl (b.1960)
Arranged by: Ben Harbert (2007); Felix Salazar (2010)

"Balinesa: El canto de los changos" and "Javanesa: Danza dorada del gamelán" are two short movements from Randall C. Kohl’s Suite Mundial (1994, 1997). Both pieces... listen »

L.A.tric count(to8)erpoint

Composed by: Nejc Kuhar

Commissioned by the Los Angeles Electric 8 to be premiered at LA Phil 100: Celebrate LA - 9/30/18  A massive, free, eight-mile street party connecting Walt Disney Concert Hall and the Hol... read more »

Warr Guitar Counterpoint

Composed by: Kai Kurosawa (b.1979)
Arranged by: Felix Salazar

Written in 2000, Kai Kurosawa’s “Warr Guitar Counterpoint” is a short piece inspired by Steve Reich’s Electric Counterpoint. Purchase "Warr Guitar Counterpoint... listen »

Immutable Distance

Composed by: Andrew Nathaniel McIntosh

Commissioned by Los Angeles Electric 8.   “Immutable Distance” (2013) is the third in a group of related pieces for ensembles of like instruments. The first of these pieces... read more »

Organ Sonata No. 1, F minor, Op. 65

Composed by: Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1874)
Arranged by: Ben Harbert

The organ and the electric guitar have a lot in common: the physical distance between the played instrument and the sound source; the range of possible effects (organ stops and guitar pedals); the... listen »

Louange à l'Éternité de Jésus

Composed by: Olivier Messiaen (1908-1992)
Arranged by: Andy Nathan

Olivier Messiaen’s Quartet for the End of Time is an abridged dialogue between sound and divinity. "Louange à l’Éternité de Jésus" (Praise to Jesus... listen »

Imagined Overtures

Composed by: Frank J. Oteri (b.1964)

We add a drummer to perform Frank J. Oteri's 2005 microtonal rock suite. The original is for two guitars, bass, and drums. With the added power of the octet, we are able to bring a new heavines... listen »

Electric Counterpoint

Composed by: Steve Reich (b.1936)
Arranged by: Felix Salazar

Steve Reich's Electric Counterpoint (1987) is one of the foremost pieces written for electric guitar ensemble. Although the original requires thirteen parts (11 guitars and 2 basses),... listen »

Picture Perfect Life

Composed by: Felix Salazar (b.1978)

Written for and premiered by Los Angeles Electric 8 at the 2008 MicroFest , "Picture Perfect Life" explores the sounds of 36-tone equal temperament tuning (the octave divided into 36 equa... listen »

Río de Porciúncula

Composed by: Felix Salazar (b.1978)

Written in 2012 for eight trombones (Los Angeles Trombone Collective) and eight electric guitars (Los Angeles Electric 8), "Río de Porciúncula" is inspired by the once abund... read more »