Louange à l'Éternité de Jésus

Audio Sample

Louange À L'éternité De Jésus

Composed by: Olivier Messiaen (1908-1992)
Arranged by: Andy Nathan

Olivier Messiaen’s Quartet for the End of Time is an abridged dialogue between sound and divinity. "Louange à l’Éternité de Jésus" (Praise to Jesus’ Eternity) is the fifth movement from the Quartet and features a slow moving melody with triadic accompaniment. Originally written for cello and piano, this arrangement distributes the piano accompaniment among the six outer guitars and the cello melody in the center two. The movement is reverential and bids the listener to focus on Jesus’ divine nature.

Messiaen’s Quartet for the End of Time was completed in 1940, while the composer was interned in a German prison camp. Among his fellow detainees were a clarinetist, a violinist and a cellist. Performed for fellow prisoners and camp officers during January of 1941, Quartet for the End of Time has grown to be Messiaen’s most well known composition.

Purchase "Louange à l’Éternité de Jésus"